Cross country hosts pre-conference meet

The University of Maine Cross Country team kicked off their season Saturday morning by hosting an NEC Pre-Meet, featuring the University of New Hampshire, University of Vermont and the University of Massachusetts Lowell. The event was scored as three separate meets, though all of the runners ran the five mile course together.

The UMaine men lost to UNH 15-44, Lowell 15-50 and UVM 15-45.

The Black Bears felt the loss of now-graduated Kelton Cullenberg, who was the UMaine captain and second-fastest male runner in the competitive America East Conference last year.

UVM junior Dan Moroney took first place overall with a 25:59, running at a blistering 5:11 clip. Moroney was nearly 20 seconds ahead of second place finisher, freshman River Hawk Paul Hogan, who finished with a 26:17. UVM sophomore Dylan Souder rounded out the top three finishers, coming in with a 26:25.

The Black Bears were led by sophomore Lucas Bourget and junior Jesse Orach, who finished 20th and 21st with times of 27:16 and 27:18 respectively. Senior Jarrod Lenfest and freshman Joshua Home were just a few strides behind, finishing at 23rd and 24rd with times of 27:21 and 27:27.

The UMaine women did not fare much better, falling to UNH 17-46, Lowell 26-29 and UVM 16-45.

The women’s 5K race was swept by UVM in dominating fashion. Junior Alicia Clark was the first Catamount to cross the finish line with a time of 18:57. She was followed by sophomore Julie Richer at 19:20 and junior Hilary Rawding at 19:22.

The first Black Bear to cross the line for the women was senior Carolyn Stocker, finishing in eighth place with a time of 19:45. Junior Annabelle Wilson finished in 14th at 20:12. Junior Naomi Holzhauser rounded out the top-30 women finishers with a time of 6:48.

The Pre-Conference Meet is always held at the host school of the Conference Meet, which will take place at UMaine Nov. 1. Until then, the Black Bears will travel next weekend to take on the University of Massachusetts Amherst Sept. 13 at 11 a.m.

Read more here:
Copyright 2018